My Desire To Homeschool

Let me start off with the fact that I DID homeschool my older two when they were 3 and 5. My then 5 y/o could read, but for some reason refused to do it for me. Worried that I was setting him up for failure, I caved and sent them both to public school (admittedly, my second was learning to read faster than my first, but is a little socially awkward, and does FANTASTIC in a one-on-one setting, so I thought about keeping him home). I miss having them home with me, and I’m worried that my Biblical teaching at home during evenings and weekends isn’t enough “Write these commandments that I’ve given you today on your hearts. Get them inside of you and then get them inside your children. Talk about them wherever you are, sitting at home or walking in the street; talk about them from the time you get up in the morning to when you fall into bed at night.” Deuteronomy 6:6-8, The Message.   You can’t properly impress the commandments upon them all the time if your children are away at a government indoctrination facility. This has been weighing heavily on my heart as of late, especially as I see the results of a life without Jesus (I’ve been especially affected by the stories of those “flash mobs”  and other groups of young people whose lives are so empty they try to fill the void with things and violence, and appear to believe hurting or killing others will somehow ease their pain). I don’t want my children to turn to drugs, sex and violence to feel better (or even just to feel).

Anyway, back to home education…

Obviously the school we did do paid off because my kindergartener goes to a first grade class for about a half hour every morning for reading, and his first grade teacher says he’s in her top reading group. Still I worry that he’s not getting enough of a challenge in the other areas (unlike the other kids in his class, he can count to 100, patterns and sorting are concepts he mastered when he was three, and he writes complete sentences, although I would like to see his handwriting improve, but it’s still better than the average 5 y/o’s).

Since I’m hesitant to take either out of school just yet, I decided to work with my 2 y/o. It’s funny because he recognizes a letter enough to say its sound, but he doesn’t remember the letter’s name! I guess I’m figuring that if I can get on a good schedule with him and have the good results I had with the other children, I can convince my husband to let me educate our other children again.

Over the next couple weeks in addition to figuring out a good schedule, I will also play around with curriculum choices. I can’t exactly afford a canned curriculum, and I want at least part to be computer-based (my oldest loves playing math games on the computer!). I don’t plan on making any moves until the end of the school year anyway, so I have time to play around with my options.

Just wanted to get my thoughts out! If you have any suggestions for fitting in school, chores, and service (and fun outings, of course!), or if you have any educational websites you want to recommend, let me know below!

 

2 thoughts on “My Desire To Homeschool

Leave a Reply

