A Short Post On Goals

I follow @frugalmama on Twitter, but I hadn’t stopped by her blog in a WHILE. Today she tweeted a link to one of her most recent posts, and the tweet itself was so intriguing, I just HAD to take a look.

The premise of her post was making a goal, writing it down, let me say that again, WRITE IT DOWN, and then tell everyone about it (they help you stay accountable). As a side note, I have been looking over Chalene Johnson’s 30 Day Challenge, and she also talks about writing it down.

But here’s where I run into a little snag. Sure, I have little goals, but none of them are really life changing. I’m not sure what I want to do when I grow up, but I DO know that I WILL be self-employed. Whether I’m homeschooling or not, I need the flexibility to be there for them. They come first.

So, now what? I have a little health and fitness side business that I’d love to make a full-time thing, BUT, I keep asking myself, “How does this align with God’s will for me?” I’ll be honest, I have no idea what God wants me to do with my life. I do know that I was called to leave the Army and be there for my kids. I don’t want to fall into the “Love of money [but] be satisfied with what [I] have” (Hebrews 13:5). Still, being able to support my family should my husband be unable to, due to injury or death, is something that has been rattling around my head lately (and being that he’s a soldier, the scenario is not totally impossible).  Or even being so successful, my husband could find other employment with less hours so he could spend more time with us would be fantastic.

Okay, now that I have that jumble out, I’m back to my original question, what big, scary, life-altering (for the better) goal should I set for myself? I know, only I can answer that. I’m going to give myself a couple more weeks to mull it over (and pray hard, because seriously, why would all of these successful moms with good descriptions of focus on goals suddenly be popping into my life, unless there’s something I’m supposed to be hearing?).

What are some of YOUR crazy-big, life-altering goals? Let me know below!

Leave a Reply

