Building My Routines Part Two

Yesterday I talked about why I wanted to start building daily routines both for myself and for my children. Today, I want to give you a rough idea of how I’ve been building. Please note that I am using both Fly Lady‘s system, and www.titus2.com‘s “Manager’s Of Their Chores” book, and I did not come up with all of this on my own.

First thing Fly Lady asks us to do is shine our sinks. I admit I didn’t start doing that until last week, and I found Fly Lady several years ago! I’m not just building my routines, I’m training my children, so shining my sink became a priority. Here’s why: My oldest son’s job is to empty the dishwasher. When he would give me attitude (he has since adjusted it) I would point out that I can’t do my job (washing dishes, loading dishwasher) if he doesn’t do his. It hit me about a week ago, that by not keeping my sink cleaned out, I’m not showing my son that I do mean it when I say that we are a team. I’m not doing my part if I’m not keeping up on the dishes. I have since committed to (and following through with) washing dishes/loading the dishwasher as dishes are dirtied. A bonus to this is by keeping my sink clear, dishes don’t pile up on my counters, helping keep those clear, which helps my kitchen at least *look* neater.

Another thing Fly Lady asks is that we “swish and swipe,” doing a quick wipe down of the bathroom every morning. Fast wipe of the counter and sink, swift swirl of the toilet brush in the bowl (I also wipe the rest of the toilet). This is not a deep cleaning, this is a literally for me a two minute job. And I do it after I get dressed for the gym first thing in the morning, or at the latest, after I get out of the shower and I’m dressed and made up and still in the bathroom. I have started having my five-year-old do the same in the front bathroom, and it was easier to get him to do it without complaint when I explained that I do this every morning too. Because I strive to always tell my children the truth (even if it is the kid-friendly, sanitized version), I realized I just made myself accountable.

And it’s this accountability that has spurred more effort in keeping up the house. If I’m going to tell my children that they need to help out around the house, well, I better be helping out around the house too. So I also set aside time in the morning, after everyone is at school and I’m home from the gym to do a quick pickup of the house. As simplistic as this sounds, I have found that if I continually pick up items that are not in their correct places, the bigger cleaning tasks, such as vacuuming or mopping, aren’t so overwhelming (having to stop vacuuming before you start because of toys, random papers, etc makes a relatively simple task that much bigger. Much easier to take care of things as you see them).

So I have my morning “swish and swipe,” check Facebook over breakfast, dress the little boys, check on the older two’s chores, and then we’re out the door.

After I get home from the gym and shower, it’s really fast pick up the house #1, feed everyone at home, and during nap time I catch up on FB (I like to offer up advice on fitness, ESPECIALLY to pregnant women, and weight loss, preaching the good word of clean eating and weight lifting, smacking down the idea that 1,200 calories a day is enough to fuel the exercising person desiring weight loss), listen to or view business motivational calls and webinars, and do laundry.

The only change to this is on the days that the younger two are at our church’s “Mother’s Day Out” program, where I get four hours to do vacuuming, mopping, and my ongoing declutter project in the baby’s room.

I just realized how long this is! I guess I’m going to turn this into a three part series! Join me tomorrow for the “exciting” (ha ha!) conclusion of where I am now, and where I want to be!

But real quick, what are some of the things that you MUST do every day (besides shower and brush your teeth!)?

One thought on “Building My Routines Part Two

Leave a Reply

