Hair Down, Dress On

On my 101/1001 list, I have “wear a skirt or dress every day for a week,” “wear the same outfit every day for a week,” and “wear my hair down every day for a week.”

So, decided to do those, get them out of the way. I hate wearing my hair down (it gets in my face), but the whole point of the 101/1001 project is to get out of my comfort zone and try new things.

What’s the motivation behind the one outfit thing? you may ask. Well, a couple things, one we wear 20% of our clothes 80% of the time (this will give me a chance to start evaluating what I actually need before I cut down on what I have), plus who will actually notice what I wear? Isn’t the reason we own so many clothes because we worry what other people are thinking? What if no one actually cares about what you’re wearing because they are so preoccupied with what you think about what they’re wearing? How would that change your view on your wardrobe, spending habits, and how much time you spend in the morning picking out clothes?

I was in the Army for 8 years, and I wore a uniform every day to work. There was no stress over what I should wear to impress the other women that day, no worries about “does this make my butt look big.” Less stress. I want less stress in my life. I’m hoping my experiment with civilian clothes will help me toward this goal.

Picture to come soon, but just so you know, I’m wearing a guava colored strapless dress with capri length leggings and a long-sleeved black cardigan. I may cheat and bust out a short-sleeved white cardigan if it gets too hot here, but the dress will be the same.

One thought on “Hair Down, Dress On

Leave a Reply

