Ms. Fix-It!

Sadly I didn’t get any pictures, but several months ago I had a “do as I say, not as I do” moment and threw a toy in the house, into the playroom. Well, it hit the wall and made a small hole (my boys have lots of metal cars and airplanes which are pretty heavy for their size). Of course I am a bit of procrastinator, especially when it comes to stuff I don’t know how to do (in this case, patch up a hole in the drywall), so it wasn’t until I began to seriously consider moving to a new rental within our neighborhood that I got off my tail-end and fix the hole.

A couple days ago, while the big boys were making their little wood-working project at Lowe’s (we attend every event because it’s free, and my boys are learning valuable skills in following directions, using tools, and all that other manly stuff), I wandered over to the paint area where, HOORAY, I found a patch kit. I plugged up the hole that night, and this morning I went back to get paint to cover the patch.

Considering we live in a ramshackle dump owned by a slumlord (things we did not know at the time we decided to rent this place), my not-as-pretty-as-I-hoped patch job actually matched other patches the slumlord’s brother-in-law or cousin or whoever she calls her “handy man” did before we moved in. So yay!

I’m excited that I learned a new skill! With practice (and there are other holes the slumlord didn’t fix before we moved in), I think I could get pretty good. Well, maybe not.

And now, we pray hard about the two houses we’re thinking about renting. Moving is hard, even if it is just a block over, but then again, I’m not sure I want to stay in a house where, shortly after we moved in we discovered the refrigerator didn’t work properly and instead of investing in a new refrigerator, the slumlord moved the fridge from her other rental into our house. And now, less than a year later, this one is slowly warming up, even with both the fridge and freezer set to maximum cold and the doors not being opened frequently. That’s only the tippy-top of the iceberg of everything wrong with this house, but I don’t want to list everything. I want to move, but it has to be in the Lord’s timing (and Dave kind of has to be willing to move too, boo).

Sorry for the huge gap, but we have been busy so far this summer! Between church/VBS and homeschooling, I’ve hardly had time to sleep, let alone write blog posts! But I will write more on homeschooling later (it has been a blast and I pray daily that I can convince my husband to let me do it officially next year).

Leave a Reply

