Movies, Ice Cream, and a Business Trip

My kids have been begging me for a while to take them to see the new Ice Age movie (I’ve only seen the first. It was lame and predictable). So yesterday, I did. And I ate popcorn and drank diet soda (more evil than HFCS soda). And I don’t feel bad about it. I asked myself, “Am I going to be embarrassed to  admit this to the people who read my blog?” And I said no. True, movie theater popcorn is GMO  trans-fat laden garbage that is nowhere Paleo or any other measure of healthy. BUT, my family only goes to the movies once or twice a year.

 

 

 

But then there was last night… Now, I don’t miss grains. Many people who go Paleo/primal say, “Oh, I miss my pasta/bread/cookies.” Not me. Ok, popcorn, but it’s not something I’d eat at home. My biggest weakness ever is ICE CREAM. Refined sugar is poison, I get that. I am unable to get a pint and not eat it in one sitting. But dang it, if I’m going to eat ice cream, I’m going to eat the whole dang pint, otherwise it doesn’t seem worth it to me. Of course, this morning, like every other morning after eating a pint of Ben and Jerry’s, I woke up feeling like I have a mild hangover, with grogginess and a headache. It happens EVERY. SINGLE. TIME. But I still pick up a pint at least once a month (but honestly, I go through periods where it’s twice a WEEK).

 

 
Moving on, this afternoon I’m leaving for Dallas for THE Mary Kay event of the year, Seminar! I’m so excited! I get to hang out with my friends from back home, dress cute all the time (I find it hard to do so with toddlers hanging off of me all the time at home), and learn how I can help other women reach their dreams!

The downside to this is I will be staying in a hotel and eating at restaurants. I think I have it figured out, just order plain grilled/baked meat with loads of veggies on the side… Except one rarely finds veggies on a breakfast menu unless it’s on an omelet. I like serving my scrambled eggs on a bed of lightly heated up cabbage and sauteed onions. I’m going to bring a few packets of Shakeology, but I’d like to have another option. *Sigh* I’ll figure it out.

One more thing I’m excited about, I’m going to wear my Vibram Five Fingers at the hotel gym! I admit I love it when people ask me about them!

 

 

Leave a Reply

