Running My Butt Off In 2014

running bear

I like to run races. I’m not as much of a fan of TRAINING for races, but I’ll run a race without training any day (I’m looking at you, fall/winter of 2002 with a race every weekend for three months, and that was my exercise for the week!).

Except when it’s over 10 miles. Many years ago, I ran the Army 10-MIler at 18 weeks pregnant with minimal “training.” My longest run leading up to the race was four miles. My goal was to finish, and I did. But my plan for 2014 involves a couple half-marathons and one Marathon in October. I have never run more than 10 miles at a time in my life. So I will actually have to train.

After a quick search, I found a few free training plans. I’m going to count my martial arts training as my “cross training” since there is no running involved (although there are handstands and dive rolls. I’m not too old to learn gymnastics, in my opinion!). All of my weekday runs will have to be at night, after the kids go to bed, so the bulk of my running is going to have to be done early in the morning on weekends (does running 15 miles on a Sunday count as violating the Sabbath? Even if it’s before church and I still make it to church on time with a smile on my face?).

I admit I am a HUGE FAN of New Year’s Resolutions! And my resolution (more of a goal, I guess) is to run the Marine Corps Racing Series (except the Tri, I don’t like swimming enough to race and I don’t own a bike). Plus my husband and I are going to run the Army 10-Miler in October, which we haven’t run since before baby #4 was born (I was actually pregnant with him when I ran it!).

What are your goals for 2014?

