The Media Fast

I forgot to mention in my last post the other thing I need to give up for Lent, MEDIA. I admit it, I’m disgustingly addicted to my phone and to social media. I start out telling myself that I am going to do a little networking for my Damsel in Defense business, maybe even snag a few pictures to use on my Facebook page. Next thing I know, it’s hours later and I haven’t even booked a party. All I did was look at pictures of cats and get into arguments with strangers. Even worse, I ignored my kids, sending the horrible and clear message that my phone comes first. Not them, my precious gifts from God, but a piece of plastic and internet strangers. Yuck.

So starting Wednesday, I’m going offline, sort of. I will still blog, I will still do Facebook parties (I have some scheduled, and I can’t not work). I will not hang out in the groups, I will not obsessively check my news feed, I will not go to the various humor sites I enjoy. I will limit the blogging/ Facebook party, work-related stuff to 60 minutes per day. I will have a timer next to my computer.

Going a step further, the TV will stay off. Even though we don’t have cable, the TV seems to stay on all day, every day, and the noise makes it hard for me to focus. So, no PBS Kids, no Netflix, no DVDs, even the educational ones. I will somehow figure out how to keep the younger kids quiet and entertained while I’m working with the older kids, and that will be the biggest hurtle. The exception to the no TV/DVD rule is my yoga workout DVDs. I’ve made a commitment to do yoga every day, and the DVDs are helpful to me.

Saying no to media/electronics will be a real test, but I believe the blessings will be IMMENSE. More time focused on family? More time to read Scriptures? More time to write letters to far off friends and family? All good things to come out of fasting from electronics 🙂

For further reading on the subject of giving up TV/Internet, I strongly suggest you read the book “7, An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess” by Jen Hatmaker

Leave a Reply

